Here lately I have been trying to paint my nails at least once a week.  So I figured since I have a hard time finding a polish that lasts longer than a few days on my nails, (still haven’t found one that lasts longer than that) that I would keep trying and report my findings to you guys.

How I prep my nails:
Before a few months ago, no polish lasted more than two hours on my nails. I don’t know if I’m just unusually hard on my nails or what, but nothing lasted long. But after watching a million Youtube videos (or at least if felt like that many) I finally found something that extended the wear time of my polishes. What did I find you ask? Isopropyl alcohol or more commonly known as rubbing alcohol. This in its self extended the wear time for a couple of hours, but then I read about nails dehydrators that are used to prep the nails before polish is applied. So with the plain alcohol and the alcohol based  nail dehydrator my polish now lasts way longer, not that it lasts a week or anything, but it definitely helps.

More specifically I: Push back my cuticles and make sure the nail bed is clean and clear of debris. I then put 70% Isopropyl alcohol on a cotton ball and clean my nail beds. Then I apply one coat of  Ever glaze Prep by china glaze on my nails and let it dry. Then I follow the usual steps of base coat, 2 coats of color then if I think it needs it I’ll apply a top coat or matte top coat.

Last night I used this nail polish by elf cosmetics that I received for Christmas.

I found the formula to be nice, but the tiny, not very dense brush gave me problems, especially on my wider nails like my thumbs. As you can see in the pictures my pointer fingernail has already started to chip on the edges. I didn’t pa attention  to exactly how much time passed before it chipped but I’d have to say no more than 14 hours after application. It for sure didn’t make it to the 24 hour mark.

One thought on “Nail Polish Saturday

  1. This is why I refused to paint my own nails. I get gel nail manicure done every 2-3 weeks, depending on when it needs it next time. I’m not neat enough and I’m not patient enough. And I am definitely way too hard on my nails for regular polish. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

